Favourite Youtubers 2014

Hi, my name is Kristy and I’m addicted to YouTube. (“Hi, Kristy.”)

YouTube-logo-full_color

If you asked me when my life became completely and utterly filled with YouTube videos, I couldn’t give you a clear answer..it was sometime last year when I started becoming interested in makeup. After discovering some beauty gurus, I realized YouTube is an amazing place full of amazing people from movie reviewers to cosplayers to comedians to people who are just so cool that I need to know what shenanigans they get up to everyday.

I’ve recently realized how ridiculous the amount of time I spend on YouTube is and have been trying to cut back a tad. This process has made me realize who my absolute favourite YouTubers are; the ones I would never unsubscribe from in a million years. Hopefully you’ll go check them out and fall for them just as hard as I have! Here we go:

Beauty/Fashion Gurus:

Estee/Essiebutton (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvFyPrPVotqsTlqxUmAOYRw)

Blog – httphoto (6)p://www.essiebutton.com/

(Vlogs – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChl-lOZZY2vo_Zho6cfj0uQ)

(Aslan/The Worktop – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCgtgMd3z_Boj_QABLbLlabw)

I’ve decided that we’re going to start with my absolute no doubt number one favouritiest favourite youtuber. And that’s Estee! She has a beauty channel as well as a vlog channel with boyfriend Aslan and beloved greyhound Reggie. Honestly, if you were to look up parasocial relationship you would probably see a picture of me watching essiebuttonvlogs because I feel like these guys are my best friends. Estee has such a quirky and unique personality and her and Aslan are so cute together. Oh, and Reggie is a complete gem. I love their taste in home decor and fashion and I just can’t stop watching! If you’re going to subscribe to anyone on this list, check them out. Aslan also just started his own DIY/cooking channel, The Worktop, which is fantastic so be sure to check that out too!

photo (5)Gabriella Lindley/velvetgh0st (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9OBxOV1gHR8Qq5OJGDd41w)

Gabby also has a beauty channel, but my absolute favourite thing on her channel lately have been her homeware hauls; and there have been so many as of late since she just moved! I love it. I also think her accent is one of the coolest ones I’ve ever ever heard and I could listen to her all day! She has a very bubbly and happy personality that is a pleasure to watch.

photo (1)Helen Melonlady (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuyoMfEQ224CmC_oZF7tcsg)

Helen is…Helen! I think to get the full effect, you should probably just hop on over to her channel. She’s incredibly zany and unique in pretty much every way you can think of. Her fashion is really cool and she isn’t afraid to wear whatever she wants. I’m extremely jealous of her hair colour. She also has a lovely voice that she utilizes in her band, Box of Light! Oh and a wiener dog called Lola! Who can resist a puppy.

photo (9)Arden Rose (https://www.youtube.com/user/ARose186?feature=submgr)

Arden Rose has a beauty channel with other random videos thrown in here and there. Arden is someone I would love to be friends with. To tell the plain honest truth: I pretty much just watch her videos to watch her be goofy. She’s got an awesome style that I wish I could pull off but alas…I can’t. So I settle with watching her be cool.

Movie/TV Guys: 

photo (3)Charlie Schneider/Emergency Awesome (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDiFRMQWpcp8_KD4vwIVicw)

If you watch Game of Thrones, Legend of Korra, Marvel/DC shows, Doctor Who and some such stuff you should definitely be subscribed to Charlie. He does episode reviews, Q&A’s, and basically explains anything and everything that’s confusing about the shows. He’s really knowledgeable about a whole whack of shows and I feel very well informed and up to date because of him. Seriously, he’s so smart. I don’t know how he does it!

photo (8)Chris Stuckmann (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCCqEeDAUf4Mg0GgEN658tkA)

Chris is a reviewer who knows aheckofalot about movies. He lays it out like he sees it in his reviews and isn’t biased by anything. He doesn’t rely on a zany personality or anything to get views (not to say he doesn’t have a personality..he does, he’s great) but people come and watch because he knows what he’s talking about.

photoSchmoesKnow (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVCs1F_XGueuaD9AfgTWmg)

Kristian and Mark are a duo who together make my other favourite movie reviewers. They’re more of a laugh than Chris, but don’t let that fool you! They also know their stuff. They’re actually certified reviewers on Rotten Tomatoes and other fancy things like that. They also host the Schmoes Know Movie Show once a week which is an hour long show discussing movie news. I don’t often have time to watch the whole thing every week, but let me tell you, that show was literally one of the only things that got me through my incredibly slow desk job last summer.

Cosplay: 

photo (7)Commander Holly (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCraAcZqnBtDOKPOuQiBiNIw)

(Crabcat Industries – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCzk0Qrtv-qnyOvDkY6QVa5w)

Holly, Holly, Holly. You may know Holly from Sci-Fi’s Heroes of Cosplay – that’s where I was first introduced to her stuff. She’s an amazing artist, and makes kick ass cosplays, sculptures, props, etc. And guess what? She’s a SUPER COOL PERSON. I know I said that I wanted to be friends with both Arden Rose and Estee earlier but if I had to choose one person from this list to hang out with it would be Holly Conrad. That might be because I feel like we’ve hung out many times before…Her and her friends Lizzie and Jessica do a (sort of) weekly podcast on the Crabcat Industries channel in which they just drink and chat for an hour. She does a segment called ‘Cosplay Class’ as well that has extremely helpful tutorials for all sorts of cosplay techniques.

Other: 

photo (2)Carrie Hope Fletcher/ItsWayPastMyBedTime (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCbhNxkjmpQcTJDrabiyzHUw)

Carrie’s followers are called Hopefuls..that right there should be a clue as to what kind of person she is. She is an incredibly happy, optimistic personality and watching her videos brighten up my day. She’s a singer and actress, in fact I was first introduced to her when I stumbled across a video of her as Eponine singing the most beautiful rendition of On My Own that I have ever heard. Her videos range from book reviews and letters to her brother to song covers/originals and general thoughts on life. She’s a lovely person and I hope more than anything that she’s back in Les Mis this summer when I go to England because you KNOW a band of undomesticated equines could not drag me from that show.

And that’s all! Those are my favourites and I encourage you to go check them out, one of their videos is bound to put a smile on your face!

Until next time,

Kristy

Any thoughts? Leave 'em here!

