DIY Fandom Snowflake Patterns

DSC_0033Hi folks!

The first snowflakes have fallen here in my little corner of the true north strong and free and you know what that means – it’s time for Christmas music and decorations and baking and shopping…so many festivitieeeeesss!

PicMonkey CollageToday I bring you a Christmas decoration that has been around for a very very very long time: the classic paper snowflake. But I am convinced that some evil person has been going around to every child worldwide and whispering lies saying “No, no, you’re not good enough with those scissors to make a cool snowflake..just stick to circles and triangles, champ.” Well, I’m here today to tell you that you don’t have to stick with those rudimentary shapes. Making cool snowflakes is SO EASY; I’m pretty much addicted to making them as of right now.

I was first put onto this train of thought when I came across this site with snowflake patterns made by Krystal Higgins for a majority of the families in Game of Thrones – http://www.kryshiggins.com/free-game-of-thrones-inspired-snowflake-patterns/ (They’re so cool and intricate, check them out!). I tried out the Targaryen pattern and it turned out perfectly causing me to think: “By Jove, the endless possibilities!” And so I embarked on a journey to create my own patterns for some of my favourite shows and movies.

Here’s what I came up with:

How To Train Your Dragon (my personal favourite!)

DSC_0020

Sherlock

DSC_0014

Doctor Who

DSC_0023

Stargate SG-1

DSC_0016I created patterns for them but they’re gonna take a little bit of explaining:

1. Start with a square piece of paper

2. Fold it in half corner to corner so you get a triangle. Fold that triangle in half, and then in half again. Your triangle should now look the same as the patterns.

3. Now match the pattern size to the size of your paper triangle and trace the pattern. It was easiest for me when doing the Game of Thrones ones to size it on my computer screen and trace it right from there. The light of the screen also made it super easy to trace. Just don’t press too hard or you’ll wreck your computer screen, but I hope that’s common sense!

4. Cut out the WHITE part of the pattern.

Here’s the patterns:

Doctor Who/Sherlock

CCI20141108mn

Stargate/HTTYD

CCI20141108

And that’s it! I needed an x-acto to get the TARDIS window and the skull eye out, but I just used regular ol scissors for the rest of it. If you try some of these out or make some patterns of your own, make sure to send me a picture or let me know how it went! I’m telling you it’s so super easy and they look dang cool.

Get your Christmas spirit on, people! 🙂

Kristy

 

 

3 thoughts on “DIY Fandom Snowflake Patterns

  1. Pingback: It's a Geeky Winter Wonderland! - GeekMomGeekMom

  2. Pingback: Create a Snowstorm For Any Fandom | lisathegeekmom

  3. Pingback: Geeky Snowflake Patterns- From Star Wars to Game of Thrones, Easy Christmas Crafts! | Strong Independent Catwoman

Any thoughts? Leave 'em here!

