Basic Cosplay Makeup

Hey you!

Today I bring you a basic cosplay makeup tutorial as promised. It’s always a good idea to wear makeup when cosplaying as it makes your pictures turn out exponentially better! And to a certain extent the more dramatic it is, the better it will look on camera. It’s almost like how stage makeup needs to be over-exaggerated for it to read properly from the audiences perspective. Thus the makeup I show you in this video is much heavier than I would wear on an every day basis, but in pictures that someone would take of me at a convention it looks like a very natural makeup.

This is the look I use for many of my costumes, most recently Anna from Frozen (plus freckles!). I figured it would be a lot easier for me to physically show you than to explain it in text so I whipped out my trusty camera and filmed it. All of the products I used can be found at your friendly neighborhood drug store, minus the Kat Von D Tattoo eyeliner which I got at Sephora, so we’re certainly not breaking the bank! This makeup is a great base to build off of by adding things like circle lenses, freckles, a more dramatic eye, etc. but can also easily be used as it is for a character!

I hope you enjoy it and find it helpful! If you have any questions or comments feel free to leave them here or on the video.

Kristy

Any thoughts? Leave 'em here!

