Anna (Frozen) Cosplay Part 2

It’s about time I put up the second part of my Anna cosplay! If you haven’t seen my initial post, it explains how I made a majority of the costume so be sure to check that out here: https://acescharles4.wordpress.com/2014/03/19/anna-cosplay-part-1/

I’m going to apologize in advance for the lack of pictures, I completely forgot to take some before I left for school and now my costume is hundreds of kilometers away! I’ll try my best to explain everything I did to put the finishing touches on my costume.

In this post I’ll cover:

1. Anna’s boots

2. The white hair stripe/working with coloured spray

3. Anna’s freckles

4. Other tweaks and finishing touches

Here we go!

1. Anna’s Boots

Normally I don’t pay much attention to the footwear I wear for cosplays but Anna’s boots are so beautiful and a big part of the overall look so I knew I had to make them as accurate as possible.

I started where I always start – my home, my best friend, my saviour on so many occasions, Value Village! I found a pair of black boots there for about 10 bucks. I’m trying my best to think of a politically correct way to describe these boots but I’m struggling… so I’ll just go with it: They were hooker boots. But I soon remedied that!

DSCF2178The very first thing I did was trace the shape I wanted for the top of the boots. Anna’s boots are a bit taller in the front than the back and come up to just over mid-shin so I tried to replicate that. When I had cut them and had a rough edge, I folded it over and sewed it down. It turned out awesome, they looked like they came that way!

The one source of quandary that I ran into occurred when I had to cut through the zipper. To make it functional again, I just hot glued the top of the zipper so it wouldn’t slide off!

At this point I had to turn the skinny hooker heel into the thick heel suitable for a Disney princess. To do this I simply built the heel up with duct tape. It looked pretty obvious up close, but from far away and in pictures it looked awesome! I used red paint from the dollar store to paint the sole.

a4a480db5c7d3e215d58e90483b2443a

Lastly, I had to recreate the gold pattern. To do this, I free-handed the pattern from this reference photo onto the front and back of the boots. It was pretty difficult to get it symmetrical so I made sure to use an erasable writing utensil. I then went over it with 3D yellow fabric paint from Michaels.

DSCF2071

And voila!

They turned out so much better than I expected and I think they really topped off the look! All I have for up close shots is a crappy Instagram picture, apologies.

10706526_10154693850470397_1126594780_n

2. The White Hair Stripe

Welcome to my main source of grief in this entire process. I’m sure you’ve noticed by now, but I put the freaking stripe on the freaking wrong side of my head. And now I am subject to my own personal OCD-inducing hell every single time I look back at those pictures. Alright, let’s just not mention this ever again, okay?

Anyways, to get the white stripe I simply used white coloured hair spray that you can find at any costume or halloween store as well as on the internet. It’s super cheap, and it worked really well for the small portion of my hair. I wouldn’t recommend using it on your whole head, however. My friend who dressed as Elsa tried that and it looked okay from afar but up close it was pretty crusty and gross, not to mention toxic smelling! We probably could’ve hot boxed the van on the three hour drive to the convention. All in all, a wig would certainly be a better option for the full head.

3. Anna’s Freckles

I have to say, I thought I liked freckles before I did this cosplay…now, I would kill for them. They’re SO dang cute!

10711303_10154693924870397_1240044681_n

(SORRY I know, another crappy Instagram picture..)

Here’s how I got them to look as natural as I could:

What I used was a brown eye liner (Loreal Paris Infallible Never Fail Eyeliner in black brown). The consistency was a bit creamy which helped a lot! Basically I just started dotting it all over my face RANDOMLY. <– that there’s the key.

To make it as natural as possible you have to make it look randomly placed. As well, put some freckles where you might not necessarily want them, a couple a bit higher than your cheeks, a few lower, some on your forehead, etc.

After I did a once over with the eye liner, I dabbed at them with my fingers to make them quite faded. I used this as a base and went over my entire face again. I dabbed at them again, but only very lightly so that they stood out a lot more than the first coat. I kept adding and dabbing until it looked as natural as I thought I could get it!

I’m not joking guys, I loved these so much that I would totally do it everyday if it were a tad more socially acceptable to draw on freckles.

(If you’re wondering what I do for regular cosplay makeup, I’m planning on doing a post on that in the near future so keep an eye out!)

4. Other Tweaks and Finishing Touches

First, I had to sew a trim around the scalloping on the bottom of the skirt. Remember that fusible web stuff I used? Well it didn’t do it’s job so well. It frayed and started peeling off in areas so I had to embroider around the top of the scalloping to make it look cleaner.

Second, I don’t know if you noticed, but I got new gold bias tape for the bodice! I found the yellow bias tape I got from Fabricland to be too bright so I got a gold bias tape off Ebay. It looked awesome! Here’s the link to where I bought it: http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Shiny-Gold-Polyester-Bias-Binding-Tape-Solid-4yds-3-8-Wide-when-Folded-S-bi-008-/281018421070?pt=Sewing_Trims&hash=item416e00cf4e. Just a fair warning though, if you buy from these guys: it did take about two months to come in the mail!

I think that’s about it! I had so much fun with this cosplay; it’s probably my favourite thus far. We made a lot of youngin’s smile at the convention, and that’s a good feeling.

If you have any questions or comments please feel free to leave them below! I would love to hear from you.

Until next time,

Kristy

P.S. If you want to see other crappy Instagram photos, you can follow me at kristyhutch4!

One thought on “Anna (Frozen) Cosplay Part 2

  1. Pingback: Anna Cosplay Part 1 | Aces, Charles.

Any thoughts? Leave 'em here!

