Thank Raava: Book 3 Redeems Legend of Korra!

I just watched the season finale of Legend of Korra yesterday and, having no one to talk to about it (why don’t more people watch it?!), I thought I would bring my thoughts to my blog. If you aren’t completely caught up on LoK, DON’T READ THIS! There will be spoilers a-plenty!

It’s no secret that Avatar: The Last Airbender is one of my absolute favourite shows. It has amazing characters, very interesting plots, an amazing soundtrack, and touches on crazy deep and profound issues (etc, etc, etc.). I’m sure you have but if for some crazy reason you haven’t watched it, please do yourself a favour and hop on that train!

When I started watching Legend of Korra I was extremely skeptical. And I’m going to be completely honest, the first two books are border-line terrible. I was so mad about the Korra-Mako-Asami love triangle in book one. I also had no affinity towards Korra; to be blunt she was an over-dramatic whiny bitch. That sounds so harsh but it’s true! Then in book two when Bolin, one of the only characters that I actually liked was reduced to the ridiculous beyond obvious comic relief position (to put it nicely) of Nuk Tuk I was furious. Literally the only thing that kept me watching was my love for Tenzin and his family as well as the episodes about Avatar Wan (those were brilliant!).

BUT THEN EVERYTHING CHANGED WHEN THE FIRE NATION ATTACKED.

Ahem..what? Sorry, I meant but then everything changed when book three rolled around. And I am SO HAPPY.  The love triangle disappeared and Korra, Asami, Bolin, and Mako are friends. Just really good friends with (almost) no awkward tension! Go team Avatar! I wasn’t expecting but am really happy with the awesome girl-power relationship between Korra and Asami. Also Bolin finally gets some character development….and a girl :’)! I watched with a huge grin as Jinora’s storyline became more and more important and she became one of my favourite characters. And most importantly, I LIKED KORRA. She all of a sudden bucked up, quit the whiny, emotional outbursts, and just did a brilliant job of being the Avatar. You go girl!

The plot  was much more interesting this season as well. There was such an emotional pull to the revival of the air nation and I loved how Toph and Zuko were integrated into the season (still waiting for Sokka….JUS SAYIN). Zaheer was a very interesting character, unlike previous bad guys, in that I could understand where he was coming from and his calm, collected, extremely powerful aura was really quite creepy.

The animation in the fighting scenes this season was crazy good and a pleasure to watch. I also think they handled the element of danger in this season very well. They brought many character very close to death which was emotional and gutsy. I know some older fans are a little upset that they didn’t actually kill some of them, namely Kai. But we have to remember that this is a kids show, you can’t go around killing everybody. I personally think they handled it perfectly giving us enough emotional pull and suspense without sending kids wailing to their parents because all their favourite characters died.

The last three episodes were by far my favourite of the entire series. In fact, immediately after I watched episode 11 I did something that I never thought I would do with a LoK episode: I watched it again.  It was that good! I love how they wrapped it all up. Korra not making a full recovery right away is a very interesting move and I’m excited to see how she’s doing at the beginning of book 4. Also, everyone wanted Jinora to get her tattoos, everyone knew it was coming, and I’m sure everyone loved that scene as much as I did. Not gonna lie though, I saw a picture of bald Jinora before I watched the episode and totally thought it was little Aang and that they had somehow brought him into the episode! I was a little disappointed, but got over it quickly enough to celebrate with Master Jinora and friends.

I am so pleased with the comeback this show has made and, even though I know they’ll never read this, I just need to thank everyone who had a part in making book three for one amazing season of television.

I’d love to know your thoughts on this season and the show as a whole! Do you agree? Disagree? Shoot me a comment 🙂

Kristy

Any thoughts? Leave 'em here!

