Anna Cosplay Part 1

DSC_0439anna-frozen-cartoon-mobile-wallpaper-640x1136-2857-427488982Do you want to build a snowman?? …yeah I don’t really want to either, I’d rather stay inside and sew. ūüėÄ

The moment I first saw Frozen, Anna was instantly put on my list of future cosplays.. and slowly but surely she crept up the priority list until she actually surpassed Faramir, the one I was currently working on at the time. I dunno, it just happened! This might be the most complicated and time consuming cosplay I’ve ever done, but it’s definitely worth it. In this post I’ll explain how I made a majority of the cosplay; everything you can see in the picture to the side <–. I’ll do another post when I’ve made her pink cape, boots, and figured out how to put a white stripe in my hair (Here it is:¬†https://acescharles4.wordpress.com/2014/09/29/anna-frozen-cosplay-part-2/)! Anyways, without further ado, here’s how I did it:

Materials used:

-Blue collared shirt

-Skirt pattern

-Navy blue fabric (~3 meters, depending on your pattern)

-Light blue fabric (1.5 meters)

-HeatnBond (picture below, 2 meters)

-Black shirt (NON-STRETCHY) that clasps/zips up in the back, or is hidden in the front OR a corset pattern

-Two packages of double-fold, extra wide yellow (as close to gold as can be found!) bias tape

-Embroidery hoop and floss

-Thread

-Marking chalk

-Zipper (for skirt)

SKIRT:

1. The first thing I did was make the skirt! I used a super ghetto old pattern I got from Value Village a while back (same one I used for Ariel), but the skirt is a really generic shape so a pattern would be very easy to find in a store. When I was finished it looked a little something like this:

DSC_0394

2. Then it was time to figure out those stupid scallops! I thought about many ways I could do this but I settled on using HeatnBond. Basically it’s sticky on both sides when ironed so that I could stick the scallops right onto the skirt. It worked okay, there were some folds that I couldn’t get out but nothing that should be too¬†noticeable. I was pretty happy with it over all.

2.1 First I did a lot of measuring. I measured how many scallops I wanted around the skirt, the distances         between them, the height I wanted them to be, etc. and marked the skirt. This is all based on personal preference. I think I ended up with 8 scallops in total.

2.2 I traced these marks onto my transfer fabric, I used tule but anything see-through will do. When I cut the scallops out of the tule, I traced them onto the light blue fabric (with the HeatnBond already ironed on)

2.3 From there I followed the instructions on the HeatnBond to iron the scallops onto the skirt.

3. Next I needed to make a pattern to use for the embroidery on the skirt. I used this reference photo:

wip___anna_s_frozen_cosplay__disney__by_rapunzinette-d6qni9q (1)

I drew a line down the centre of a piece of paper and drew freehand the right side of the design. When I traced it onto the skirt, I just flipped the pattern over to trace the left side so that it would be as symmetrical as possible.

DSC_0408 DSC_0409

4. Now it’s time to pick up that embroidery hoop, settle into a comfy chair, put on a nice long movie or three, and start embroiderin’. It does take quite a long time, but I think it looks really nice when finished!

DSC_0393  DSC_0474

SHIRT:

I found my shirt at Value Village, and all that needed to be done was adjust the collar to match Anna’s.

1. To do this, I just traced where I wanted the new collar to be, cut it, pinned it, folded it down and sewed it shut. Simple as can be!

DSC_0411DSC_0414

BODICE: 

I also found this piece at Value Village, though it’s almost unrecognizable now! And I completely forgot to take a picture of it before I started cutting away… Basically it was a long blouse with puffy sleeves that (invisibly) clasped up the front.

1. First I cut off the sleeves.

DSC_0415

2. Then I cut the bottom into the shape I wanted.

DSC_0419

3. I also slightly adjusted the shape of the neckline.

4. Then I lined the entire thing with yellow bias tape

DSC_0422

5. Then I needed to make another embroider pattern which I, again, did freehand using these reference photos:

37f422db0e8f6a0044355dcf10b8f58a tumblr_mxj2cb7WT71rvwp50o2_500

And it looked like this…

DSC_0428  DSC_0432 DSC_0477

And that’s it..so far! If you have any questions about anything I did or the materials I used or anything, please ask! I’m still deciding what kind of material to make her cape out of, but I should be working on that in the near future.

DSC_0482 Fotor031916293

Until then,¬†arrivederci! Go get outside and build a snowman, it’s good for you once in a while ūüėČ

Kristy

One thought on “Anna Cosplay Part 1

  1. Pingback: Anna (Frozen) Cosplay Part 2 | Aces, Charles.

Any thoughts? Leave 'em here!

