Fan Expo 2013

My favourite day of the year has come and gone yet again. This year, I had a bunch of costume to decide between. It took a lot of wrestling with my inner nerd but eventually I settled on being Aang in the morning and changing into my Stargate dress in the afternoon before meeting Richard Dean Anderson. Yes, Richard Dean Anderson 🙂

1186945_10153170987715367_1410712074_n

I always get way overexcited on the two and a half hour drive to Toronto…

Fan Expo this year was, to tell the plain honest truth, pretty sub par. The build up was pretty exciting, there were a lot of really big stars coming and they had rented several more halls which meant a lot more ROOM and a lot more awesome. We went on Saturday and it was SO CROWDED (even with all the extra space) that little old me felt very uncomfortable at times. I was a little disappointed with the con in general for two main reasons. First, with all that extra space it didn’t seem any bigger or like there were more vendors or anything like that. I actually found the extra space kind of annoying as us con-goers had to go on a fifteen minute (if you were lucky) up ten million escalators across the entire convention centre to get from the celebrity area to where most of the vendors were. I was waiting for Richard Dean Anderson for most of the day and I really did want to shop, but I couldn’t go so far away when RDA could come back from break or my number could be called at any minute…Maybe I’m being too picky, but all the extra halls did for me was cause me to only go to the main part of the con for about half an hour. Not cool. The second reason why this year was sub par was the cosplays (or lack thereof!). I found that there weren’t nearly as many cosplays as in previous years. But I did snap some shots of the ones that I did come across as well as many creeper celebrity shots! Here they are:

DSCF0025

DSCF0026

DSCF0027

Me and Sabina (She's a Nox...from Stargate. We didn't think anyone would recognize her, but three people did!!)

Me and Sabina (She’s a Nox…from Stargate. We didn’t think anyone would recognize her, but three people did!!)

Carly's EPIC Starfox

Carly’s EPIC Starfox

DSCF0033

They broke the Guinness world record for the most Dalek's in one room...it was a little frightening.

They broke the Guinness world record for the most Dalek’s in one room…it was a little frightening.

DSCF0035 DSCF0038

Cast of Murdoch mysteries

Cast of Murdoch mysteries

I've never watched Murdoch Mysteries...but SQUEEEE JAAACKKK!!!

I’ve never watched Murdoch Mysteries…but SQUEEEE JAAACKKK!!!

DSCF0044

This was ALSO frightening! They were acting out a troop inspection or something.

This was ALSO frightening! They were acting out a troop inspection or something.

DSCF0051

With both Nathan Fillion and Gina Torres coming, there were a lot of Firefly cosplays!

With both Nathan Fillion and Gina Torres coming, there were a lot of Firefly cosplays!

DSCF0054

Creepiest cosplay of the day: Old man with ponytail as....Kaylee.

Creepiest cosplay of the day: Old man with ponytail as….Kaylee.

Norman Reedus

Norman Reedus

I didn't see her face, but the hair gives Galadriel away!

I didn’t see her face, but the hair gives Galadriel away!

Castle

Castle

Karl Urban

Karl Urban

DSCF0072

Waiting in line for RDA I was SO incredibly nervous and I didn’t know what to say so when it was my turn I marched resolutely up to him and announced: “Hi, I’m really nervous and I don’t know what to say.” Luckily he took pity on me, laughed and asked me all about the henna tattoo on my shoulder. I am forever indebted to this man that he spared me the responsibility of choosing the topic of conversation!

DSCF0079

Fingers crossed Chris Judge will be coming next year!

When I got home though, I got some of the saddest news I have ever received in my life. If you’ve read my whole blog, you’ll know of my near miss experience with meeting Michael Shanks at Fan Expo two years ago. Well, the next day Michael Shanks himself tweeted pictures of himself AT FAN EXPO AS A FAN. And we missed him. Again. Sigh. **trying not to cry**

I already can’t til next year! Unfortunately I won’t be able to make it to Toronto ComicCon this year as I just moved 17 hours from home…But I’m looking at a con in Newfoundland to go to and guess who’s coming?? WALTER the gate technician from Stargate. And my least favourite character from Enterprise. Meh.

BYE

Kristy

Any thoughts? Leave 'em here!

