iTunes Walk Through

Looking to expand the horizons of your musical tolerance? Keep reading! I’ll mention a bunch of artists that top my list.

Confession time. I am almost eighteen years of age and have just begun developing my own personal musical mojo. Strange, I know. Growing up, I was a genuine copy cat. A lot of the things I did, I did because other people (mainly my siblings) were doing them. When it came to music, that meant that when my sister developed an interest in country music, I was right by her side listening to Rascal Flatts and Keith Urban all the live long day. When she passionately fangirled over Clay Aiken, I was squealing by her side. Both her and my brothers memorized the entire Relient K discography so naturally, I was right behind them…and so on and so forth. Not only was I a musical facsimile, but I was under the belief that the price of CD’s is much too high yet my moral compass kept me from downloading it illegally (actually….I still think that). A predicament, one might think. Nah, all this meant was that whatever CD’s my siblings bought I would borrow and put on my iTunes. It wasn’t until a few years ago when I started to find bands that I liked because I liked them and not because my siblings did. And as a plus, I had some money kicking around to purchase my own music.

There was a plus to my childhood of musical mash-up. Since I followed my three siblings through a lot of their musical phases, I now genuinely enjoy most every genre of music with just a few exceptions. You’ll see what I mean when we take a look at what’s occupying the gigs of my iPod.

Enough jibber jabber, allons-y: genre by genre!

Country:

Image

Yes, my alarm clock is tuned to the local country station. Yes, that same station is programmed into my car. Yes, a small selection of current country hits play on a continuous loop at my place of employment. Yes, I do really enjoy country music and I have ever since….well, since my sister started listening to it and I….copied her. BUT since then I have developed a true love for the genre! I grew up on blue grass jam sessions…that might also have been an influential factor. Despite all the songs about tequila making clothes fall off and riding cowboys, a majority of the country music out there is wholesome and makes me smile. Everyone could use another reason to smile, no matter how happy you are. The community of country music lovers almost feels like a fandom; a family of sorts. All that said, there is a surprising lack of country music in my iTunes! I’ve got some Brad Paisley, Rascal Flatts, Keith Urban, Lady A and Carrie Underwood, ya know, the must-haves…but that’s about it. And that, my friends, I have no explanation for.

The Mellow Stuff:

Image

Call it what you will: indie, folk, alternative, easy listening…I don’t know. For me, it’s just….Mellow. This is the Mumford & Sons. This is the Young the Giant and The Head and The Heart. The Lumineers, Of Monsters and Men, The Civil Wars…you name it! I am a little picky when it comes to the mellow stuff, however. It can’t be boring. What do I mean by boring? I mean City and Colour boring. You know, just mundane with no beat really – TOO mellow. I know I probably just lost a significant portion of your respect. My brother reprimands me every day for not appreciating Dallas Green’s voice. But hey, that’s just me developing my musical mojo! Don’t hate.

Movie Scores:

Image

I have a PASSION for movie scores. They are powerful things, people. POWERFUL THINGS. My personal favourites vary from movies I watched over and over and over as a kid to epic forces of the cinema world to movies I don’t even like all that much. Here are my favourites in no particular order:

-The Avengers

-The Chronicles of Narnia

-How to Train Your Dragon **

-The Lion King

-National Treasure

-Spirit: Stallion of the Cimmaron ** (seriously.)

-Transformers: The Dark of the Moon *

-Super 8, The King’s Speech, Wreck-it-Ralph, P.S. I Love You

-and many, many more.

*The stars mean it’s even more epicly awesome than the others.

Hit play. Close your eyes. Lie on the kitchen floor (optional). Feel the music. Forget everything else. Just feel the music. It’s a feeling like no other.

DISNEY:

Image

Nuff said. Everyone has at least 5,000 Disney songs in their iTunes, am I right?

Chuck:

Image

This really surprised me. If you like Chuck,look up some of the songs that play in the background of the show. They are REALLY good! I have a bunch of artists like The Head and the Heart, The Eels, Band of Horses, The Shins etc that I discovered through Chuck. Pretty awesome. Here’s the site I used to find all the music: http://nbcchuck.wordpress.com/music-from-chuck/ . It takes a while to sift through, but it’s well worth it when you find the gems!

Musical Soundtracks:

Image

It’s no secret, I love musicals. And they’re so gorram fun to sing along with! A new addition to my library: LES MIS MY FRIENDS. LES MIS. But we do have a bit of a strange relationship, musicals and I. For example, I know almost every song from Wicked by heart and sing them on a regular basis….but I have no idea what the musical is about (other than minor details of course). I’ve never seen it nor read the book. I should get on that.

Christian Music:

Image

I’m pretty sensitive to contemporary Christian music as, let’s face it, a lot of it is pretty cheesy. I do have quite a few artists whose songs really speak to me like Casting Crowns, Needtobreathe (quite possible my favourite band ever) and Tenth Avenue North. Listen to them, I’ve been brought to tears on multiple occasions by these guys.

Oldies:

Image

The entire Beatles discography as well as a large amount of Herman’s Hermits takes up a good portion of the space on my iPod. But they are essential! I mean, what better way to let loose exists than blasting some OBLADI OBLADA or OOOOH DARLIN. There is no better way, I tell you!

The Extras That Don’t Really Fit Into a Category But Are Still Awesome None-the-less:

Image

I love me some Great Big Sea. And some Imogen Heap. I enjoy some Linkin Park as well as a small amount of Adele depending on the day. I had a Hedley phase and can listen to Fun. if I’m having a weird kind of day. There’s Ingrid Michaelson and Jack Johnson who I suppose might fit into ‘the mellow stuff’. If a JEFFSTER cd was ever released I would be all over that. Dear goodness, Marianas Trench is beautiful. Phillip Phillips is where it’s at. Don’t even get me started on A Very Potter Musical!

And I think….that about sums it up! If you haven’t heard of any of these artists, they’re fantastic. Just brilliant. Look them up. I’m really happy I’ve found my musical mojo at last and I’m proud that it’s a mish-mash of so many different styles and great artists. And since I’m in a Les Mis mood: “Music expresses that which cannot be said and on which it is impossible to be silent.” -Victor Hugo

2 thoughts on “iTunes Walk Through

  1. Solid list sis! Also, you really made me realize how prone to obsession (with celebrities who are often times much older men) and unabashedly, umm…unique (?) I have always been! hahah I will never live down the Clay Aiken thing ever. ever.

Any thoughts? Leave 'em here!

