My Favourite Characters of All Time (and Space)

Huzzah! I have finally put onto paper who my favourite characters of all time are. Now try as I might, and I tried pretty hard, I couldn’t bring myself to rank these fine ladies and gentlemen. The way they’re listed is the order in which they popped into my head. They are each awesome in their own ways… I guess they’re all number one! This list is most certainly subject to change as I haven’t watched all the movies and shows in the world and I could realize tomorrow that I forgot one of my very favourite characters of all time (very likely). Oh, and sweetie, there’ll be spoilers. 

Morgan Grimes (Chuck)

Image

 

Morgan is hilarious. He’s one of those people who is so weird that they’re awesome. He and Chuck are two peas in a pod. Over the course of the show, as Morgan finds out Chuck is a spy, gets to know Sarah and Casey, and eventually becomes part of the team, he grows more than I ever would have thought watching him in the first season. He’s basically the hero of the finale (arguably along with JEFFSTER). He’s the one who talks Casey into staying convincing him that “when you’re with us, that’s when you’re at your best!” And he’s the one who carries the hope that somehow, someday, Sarah will be the old Sarah again. He is the comic relief (along with Jeff and Lester..and Awesome…and Big Mike…etc.) but he can also pull at your heart strings in unexpected ways.

Merlin

Image

Merlin is a new addition to this list that I was very happy to welcome. It’s crazy that the first word I think of when I think of Merlin is ‘genuine’ when he lies to almost everyone around him for almost the entire series. But it’s true! He has a strong sense of what’s right and wrong. He uses his magic for good. He daily saves the life of a guy he blatantly thinks is a prat. All that’s fantastic. But the thing that stands out most about Merlin is how he never gets any thanks. Occasionally from Gaius, but certainly never from Arthur (well….once L). Not only does he not get thanks, but people don’t even recognize that he was the one that saved the day. But you know what? He’s okay with that! He doesn’t say anything. When I was watching life four episodes a day, situations would come up in everyday life where I’d just take a deep breath and think to myself  “What would Merlin do?” It takes a special kind of character to do that to you.

Bilbo Baggins

Image

I just finished reading The Hobbit for…the fourth time, I think. It’s no secret, I love that book. I could go on a tangent about how casting Martin Freeman to play Bilbo was one of best decisions of all time, but that’s not what this post is about. Bilbo is a hobbit. More than that, Bilbo is a Baggins. Those two reasons should have been enough for him to slam the door in the faces of Thorin and Co. But Bilbo is also a Took. Despite his surroundings, despite his very nature, he went on the adventure. He just…went! He followed the Tookish part of his heart and it changed his life. I find that…kind of inspiring. Also by the end of the novel it’s clear why he went on the adventure. And that reason is not the treasure. It’s to help his friends regain their home. He doesn’t protest his portion of the treasure being given to Bard and the Lakemen. When they offer him a large amount of it, he takes two measly cases. He did it all for his new friends.  

Samantha Carter

Image

 

Carter is such an awesome and complex character. I am so happy that I got to see ten plus years of her life play out through Stargate. She is a genius. That’s no secret. She’s so, so dedicated to her work. That’s no secret. She’s secretly in love with Jack. That’s a bit of a secret. Well, we actually never find out how they really feel about each other, other than they ‘care about each other…a lot more than [they] should’. That relationship just makes me want to go “as;dlkfja;sldkjfa;lskdjf;alskdjf;alksdjf;a lksdjfaksdbnfknabsdlausdhfpaoiwe” …..in a good way! As her father points out in a really sweet scene on the Prometheus in ‘Grace’, Sam so deserves love. Pete was sweet, but not the one. That creepy alien who builds a Stargate in her basement….definitely not the one. My secret wish was that Martouf never became a Zatarc and thus never died L and that (this is awful) his Tokra somehow dies from a freak symbiote poison accident or something.  letsbehonest, the duel personality would be kinda weird. Then he could live on earth and marry Sam and have beautiful little children. The thing is, as far as we know, she never finds love. She marries her work. And she’s okay with that because it’s so much a part of who she is. Bah, I could go on about Sam forever so I’ll just stop now.

Samwise Gamgee

Image

Po-Tat-Oes. You can’t not love this guy. I love movie Sam. It’s not very often that I like the movie version of a character better than the book version, but this is one of those rare cases. Sean Astin absolutely brings new life to Sam. If there’s one word that describes Sam it’s without a doubt loyal. I mean really, he’s Frodo’s gardener, it wasn’t in his contract to follow his boss to Mount Doom and destroy the one ring. But he does. And he’s the one that carries Frodo (literally..) through the horrific journey they shared. He kept hope right up until the end. He’s the one who kept Frodo going. Rosie is one lucky gal. And he has so many FANTASTIC quotes that are too long to be useful in everyday situations.

The Doctor

Image

 

Now, this is kind of a cheat because when I say the Doctor, I mean the Doctor. That is, I don’t mean Peter Davison’s Doctor or David Tennant’s Doctor or Tom Baker’s Doctor. I mean THE DOCTOR (the word doctor looks terribly strange now…). As much as we pick out who our favourite actor is (mine’s Matt Smith…I’ll tell you my reasoning sometime), the Doctor is one person. One very, very complex person.  He is c-r-a-z-y. He is loving. He’s loyal. He’s lonely. He’s a genius. He’s hilarious. He’s curious. He gets himself in to some wacko situations yet he always gets himself out. He is so happy when nobody dies. He’s the Doctor. And he’s fantastic.  

Severus Snape

Image

Snape. Snape. Severus Snape. Another complex character with a hint of tragedy (Okay, more than a hint). He’s a lot of things you really don’t think he is throughout a majority of the series. He’s full of love (at least for one person). He’s loyal. He’s….good! He’s one of the main reasons why I love re-reading Harry Potter. Seeing how he acts up until the very end and knowing who he really is and what he’s hiding…it’s crazy; he’s a tragic hero. I don’t think I could have ever done what he did. He was one amazing man. All for love….Always.

Rodney Mackay

Alright, I know what you’re thinking. Rodney was going to be an honourable mention, but I felt the need to explain myself. Rodney is a jerk. Rodney is the opposite of Merlin in the not taking credit for accomplishments area. Rodney represents Canadians very poorly. Rodney has terrible social skills. It’s amazing that he scored Dr Keller. But…just look at episodes like Tao of Rodney. Rodney can be sweet. He really cares about the people in his life even though he never lets on. He doesn’t like how he acts around people, but he doesn’t really know how to change. He loves his sister. His moments of vulnerability and sweetness sold me.

Roran

Image

Not at all what I picture him like…I kind of pretend this movie doesn’t exist.

 

Roran Stonghammer. I almost added Eragon to this list, but then I realized Roran deserved it more. Roran is one incredible man. His cousin pretty much ruins his life for him and what does he do? He fights. That’s really what he does the whole series. He is stuck in the aftermath of Eragon’s decisions and he decides to become a leader. And he is one great leader. He didn’t have the title of ‘Dragon Rider’ giving him a free ride to the top ranks of the Varden. He had to work to gain Nasuada’s trust. I hate using this word but shit is thrown at him from so many different angles. But he gets through it. And not only does he get through it, he gets the whole freaking village of Carvahall through it. And no matter how gruff and hard he may seem, he’s doing it all for love. Katrina.

John LockeImage

One of my absolute pet peeves is when writers take characters that I love, kill them off, then bring them back as a shadow of themselves and drag  their legacy through the dirt so the last memory we have of them is tarnished. This happened with Lancelot in Merlin, and it also happened with Locke in LOST when he is taken over by the stupid smoke monster. The Locke that makes this list is the real Locke before he dies. Before his memory is tarnished. Grr. Locke is the only one who understands what’s going on. Everyone thought he was crazy, Jack especially, but he knew what was up. He understood the Island. I loved how his backstory developed. The whole thing with his father and his lady friend and his walk-about. He really clicked with me. He was willing to be a leader. He had really good relationships with a few people like Boone and Walt. I just wanted to punch Michael in the face when he wouldn’t let Locke and Walt hang out. I wanted to punch Michael a lot of times, but then especially. Anyways, I really loved the complexity of Locke as well as his faith in the magic of the island, if you can call it that.

Honourable Mentions:

T’Pol

Rory Williams

Edmund Pevensie

Obi Wan Kenobi

William Wallace

Teal’c

 

Well, there it is. I’ve tried my best to explain why I love these characters so much. Each of them holds a special place in my heart. If you agree with me, leave a comment! Tell me why you love these characters. If you disagree with me, leave a comment! If you think I missed someone, let me know. I look forward to hearing from you!

Until next time,

Kristy

Any thoughts? Leave 'em here!

