Merlin Cosplay

134896951310530869_XbI9FYYr_c

*Cue John Hurt* In a land of myth and a time of magic, the destiny of a Merlin cosplay rests on the shoulders of a young girl…Her name…Kristy. That’s me. And this is how you make a Merlin costume.

Image

You’ll be happy to know that this is probably the easiest costume to make…ever. Well, maybe not the easiest. But it’s pretty gorram close! You do however need a bit of luck whilst popping tags at thrift shop. Luckily the odds were ever in my favour today and fantastic finds plus half price sales made me one happy costumer!

I started off where I usually do: Fabricland. I got one metre of bright red fabric for the scarf, and two metres of bright blue fabric for the shirt/tunic.

Scarf:

Step one. Cut out a triangle. The end.

Image

No really, this might take a few tries to get the right size. Mine ended up about two and a half feet across at the widest point. You don’t need to hem the edges because if you look closely at Merlin’s, it kinda looks like a rag. Nothing fancy, no need to be precise!

Shirt:

If you’re not in a sewing mood, you can always just wear a plain blue tshirt. I just thought I’d avoid the hassle of finding a shirt baggy enough and make one! Just like in my Merida tutorial, I traced around a t-shirt I already owned leaving an inch or two on either side so it would be pretty baggy. I pinned it, cut it out, and sewed up the sides! Easy as 3.14159.

The brilliant thing about the jacket is that you don’t have to worry about sleeves!

Image

Image

*This is where I make all the ridiculously stupid mistakes so you don’t have to. Basically…..I sewed the sleeve holes closed. Don’t do that. It’s quite counter-productive.

Now it’s time to hit Value Village! What you’re looking for: A belt (if you don’t already have one that’s long enough to knot), brown boots with buckles, beige jacket, black baggy pants (optional).

I lucked out here. I got brown boots with buckles for seven bucks at Value Village and a beige jacket for twelve at the Salvation Army. The jacket needed some alterations; here’s what I did:

First I cut off the collar so it was significantly shorter. This wasn’t necessary, but Merlin’s doesn’t have a collar so I just cut it off. 😀

Also, it came with a zipper. So I cut that off too! I was a mad man with the scissors.

Image

Finally, it was pretty huge. So I attempted to make it fit better. This didn’t turn out as well as I’d hoped, but that’s okay.

Image

And……………………………….Voila!

Fotor0215152428

I wore this on Halloween and dressed it down with a mustard cardigan! It was a lot less hot and more comfortable for a party setting than the big coat.

Now where’s my Arthur???

Kristy

 

(Merlin Cosplay Tutorial)

3 thoughts on “Merlin Cosplay

  1. Well then! I wish I had it that easy, haha. I’ve been trying to do this cosplay for a while now. Issue is….well…..why is it that a girl has such an easier time doing this than a guy? I mean really!!! The boots and the everything and the so on. Sheesh!

    Anyways, great post. Looks great and you have me feeling jealous. Keep it up!
    Cheers
    Rayen

    PS: Really, all the Merlin cosplays i’ve found online have been from girls. Which is absolutely ok. What is not ok is how much harder it is for a tall guy to do this. So the above comment is justified 😉

      • Haha I’ve been trying to do this for ages. This is the first time I’ve had something start to come together. Im going to the Anime Midwest con in a week so I need to get everything straightened out!

        Really, why in the world do only girls do this cosplay? Its quite amusing. Also a tad bit annoying. It might be awkward if I run into an Arthur over there.

        Thanks for that link! I will see if it will work out. Very helpful.

        Anywho, thanks for the time and attention. I appreciate it.
        Rayen.

        PS I fully appreciate and love all your references and quotes in the blog. Firefly ones are the best! Cheers.

Any thoughts? Leave 'em here!

